Big Hero 6

My goodness. Chick-fil-a for lunch and seeing a Disney movie in theaters. Today’s been a good day. And as much as I’d like to settle in and journal for a while, I gotta tell you about one of my new favorites, Big Hero 6.

INTRO_Disney_BigHero6_guide
I just have to say, this is an amazing movie. I’m not really a reviewer, but I’ll do my best to tell you my favorite things about it. First, this is not Disney Princess material. It’s serious, it’s touching, it’s intense. Fourteen-year-old mastermind Hiro Hamada has lost things in his short life, and through his grief and troubles he finds friendship and learns what it means to love (a growing theme with Disney), mainly because of his older brother’s life project, the personal healthcare robot, Baymax.

3a50d903d22df5802201a9078abca307It didn’t feel like an animated feature. The characters were down-to-earth, the dialogue was natural, and the settings are as diverse as real life. I didn’t feel like I was waiting around for something…new to happen, something to stretch my imagination. The events transitioned smoothly and satisfied my adventurous cravings.

And don’t get me wrong, it’s not all action and fighting and excitement–there’s an emotional side to this story that had me in tears in the middle of the theater. My family and I couldn’t keep from crying multiple times throughout the movie. Having faced sadness and loss in the past few years myself, I found Big Hero 6 to be something I could relate to, something that fed my hunger for excitement, something real with a touch that will be timeless.

So. Go see it. :D

15700495581_5410224b9e_zP.S. The dolls. The Disney Store came out with 11 inch dolls for two of the main female characters, Honey Lemon and Go Go Tomago. Unfortunately Go Go is sold out (hopefully not forever), but Honey Lemon is still in stock.

I have to say, I really, really would love to have both of these girls for my collection, and for Likeness of Life. Although, the $16.95 price tag is seeming kind of high for the kind of doll I normally pay $10 for. I’m very tempted to order her now before she sells out, but I’m still undecided.

I’ll let you know what I decide! ;)

Leave a Reply

