did you say…the doctor?

Hello. I’ve been so lazy in the creativity department lately, it’s not even funny. No writing on Amori. No drawing. Just sitting around in spare time on Pinterest and YouTube and…oh, yes, did I mention by latest mini-obsession? Well, I guess I ought to start at the beginning. Here’s a picture that describes in a nutshell what I’m about to say:

Yup.

So, yes. For me, it’s many things. TV shows, movies, books. Ugh. I know way too much about this stuff that I’ve never watched or read (and often times, don’t want to). So it’s surprising that one of these things has managed to draw me in. And it just so happens that the thing that’s captured my attention of late is…Doctor Who.

How did this happen? Well, one day I got very tired of seeing all these pins on Pinterest and not having a clue what they were about. So I went to Plugged In Online, checked it out, and was pleasantly surprised that it’s only rated TV-PG. Not to say the show doesn’t have major problems, but when you’ve been researching something like Falling Skies to base a main character off of (Amori), it’s tame. And it also helps that the good morals and touching stories seem to outweigh the grotesqueness of human-slaughtering aliens that both shows have. ;)

I must admit, I was drawn in by one of the Doctors (there are twelve, so far) and his relationship with one of the other main characters. To be precise, the tenth Doctor and his companion, Rose Tyler. I was willing to deal with creepy aliens and theological issues of fantastic proportions in order to watch their relationship. Because honestly, in modern entertainment, there don’t seem to be that many good love stories.

tumblr_static_tumblr_mhg66zm65t1ro4vz9o1_1280

I’m not that far into the second series, but I’ve already fallen in love with David Tennant and Billie Piper, who are splendid actors playing such well-rounded characters. I’m not sold on the other Doctors yet – nothing personal really, but it’s not like I’ve really seen much of them. I also can’t really recommend this show to just anybody, because I’m not a complete fan of it as a whole. It seems to me that the more time that passes, the more they push the envelope as far as what’s sexually appropriate.

That said, I have watched a few scenes with the eleventh Doctor, enough to know that the tenth is still my favorite. But my favorite scene with the eleventh and one of his companions, Amy Pond, is so great I just had to make an edit in Photoshop. I feel sort of silly, because the tenth Doctor and Rose are what drew me in, so it makes sense I should be making edits of the two of them. But like I said, I’m being lazy. XD

So, whatever the reason, here’s my latest edit:

Ice Cream

I really just love this scene. It’s such a dynamic exchange, showing so much of their friendship with a few lines. But since I so love the Doctor and Rose, here’s something that my sister made (she’s also a fan):

Ten and Rose

Now this, I think, is an even greater feat because this shows their relationship reborn (because Rose first fell for the ninth Doctor) and they don’t even speak.

Really, I’ve hardly said anything in this post. To use David Tennant’s own words, it’s hard to explain Doctor Who without sounding like a lunatic. But I’ve done my best, apologies for sounding incredibly dumb to you devoted fans out there. :P

And never fear, I’ll be back with more! See you then. ;)

Leave a Reply

