The Falcon Paradox

the falcon paradox blog versionI promised, didn’t I? The Falcon Paradox is the title of my latest writing project, a fan fiction for Doctor Who. This story started out in a TARDIS notebook that I bought recently, but it was only a handwritten rough draft. Using a prologue from a story I never finished, I’m turning it into something substantial and, I hope, quality. As for the synopsis? Here goes nothing.

Saoirse (pronounced SEER-shuh) is a nineteen-year-old from Croydon, England, who’s just moved away from home in hopes that she can leave her dark past and her mediocre life behind. However, it seems that trouble is lurking around every corner in this new life, and the arrival of a stranger during an untimely accident is no exception.

That stranger is the puzzling Doctor, who seems determined to unravel Saoirse like a mystery. Why has his peculiar spaceship, the TARDIS, lead him to her? Why are these strange creatures from outer space hunting her? These are the questions that will lead Saoirse on the greatest journey of her life, and will ultimately teach her that love is a promise, that living life is a choice, and that both will be worth it, no matter how hard they prove to be.

I really wanted to do something clever with this story, because if you’re doing something for Doctor Who, you’ve gotta do the show a little justice. I also started reading one of the books in the Doctor Who history collection, which encouraged me because it wasn’t something totally extraordinary, it was just a good, intriguing story that fit the characters really well. Which I figured, I could do too.

I’ve had some fun putting together some edits for this story based off of some of the scenes I’ve written, so I thought I’d share a couple with you. I might as well say, the Doctor takes Saoirse to America to see New York City, which is a really magical scene in the story that I had so much fun writing, I had to make a graphic for it…

welcome_to_new_york

Of course you’ve probably noticed that I’ve used Elle Fanning for Saoirse. I was looking on Pinterest for character inspiration, and Elle was the only girl who seemed to fit the character. I had also seen her in Maleficent, so I knew what she sounded like with a British accent, which made it easier to picture her for Saoirse. I might have some more edits to share in the future – I’ll just have to see.

I have no idea whether I’m going to post the story, or even when it will be finished, so I’ll just have to play it by ear. Anyways, thanks for reading, and I hope it’s been interesting. I’m sure I’ll be back with more Doctor Who edits in the future. :)

 

Leave a Reply

